United Way Salutes Volunteers at March 14 Annual Meeting

February 29th, 2012

27Fulton, NY ? When it comes to appreciating the importance of volunteering, no one understands it better than the United Way of Greater Oswego County. Volunteers are the lifeblood of the United Way and play a major role in success of many of the United Way?s initiatives and its annual campaign.

On Wednesday, March 14th, as part of the United Way of Greater Oswego County?s 74th Annual Meeting, the United Way will pay tribute to its many volunteers. ?We truly value our volunteers. Without them we would not have been able to maintain the many partnerships and collaborations that we have established over the years. Whether it is serving as a Campaign Coordinator for our Annual Campaign, helping out at our Stone Soup Luncheons, or serving on our Community Investment Committee, the time and effort that we receive from our volunteers is essential in allowing us to continue our mission of building a stronger, healthier community. We are proud of our volunteers and I look forward to honoring them at our annual meeting,? said Executive Director of the United Way of Greater Oswego County, Melanie Trexler.

Sponsored by Alliance Bank, the United Way?s 74th Annual Meeting will be held Wednesday, March 14th at 8:00 a.m. at the American Foundry, Route 104 West (behind Fajita Grill) in Oswego. In addition to honoring the United Way volunteers, Trexler stated that the program for the United Way?s 74th Annual Meeting will also recognize the exceptional individuals and businesses whose efforts help support the United Way of Greater Oswego County?s Annual Campaign and the work of the United Way?s member agencies.

Receiving awards at this year?s Annual Meeting are:
– Company Team of the Year ? Kathleen Fenlon and John Ferry, Oswego County Government.
– Company Coordinator of the Year ? George Timmins, Catholic Charities of Oswego County
– Leadership & Commitment Award ? Fulton Savings Bank
– Spirit of the Community Award ? Cayuga Community College, Fulton Campus

Lois Luber, resource development director for United Way, said that United Way Campaign Cabinet members and representatives from CENG, Entergy, Novelis, and Pathfinder Bank would present the awards at this year’s meeting.

?We are proud to have Terry Syrell, manager of Nuclear Safety and Security for CENG and this year?s CENG campaign chairperson, presenting this year?s Leadership & Commitment Award. As strong partners, CENG commitment to giving at a higher level is commendable,? said Luber.

Syrell credits communication as one of the key reasons for CENG?s level of leadership giving. ?Nine Mile Point Nuclear Station (NMPNS) encourages leadership giving by frequent, thorough communications regarding the United Way campaign and its impact on the Oswego County communities in which we all live, work and play. A senior leader is called upon to sponsor the campaign on-site and champion the cause, and the campaign is discussed many times throughout its duration during leadership meetings at all levels. NMPNS employees have raised more money than any other company in Oswego County for more than 20 years, a fact of which we are very proud and hope to continue well into the future,? said Syrell.

The United Way?s annual meeting is open to the public. The cost to attend the event is $15.00 per person and includes a complete breakfast. For more information on the United Way of Greater Oswego County?s 74th Annual Meeting, or to make reservations, contact your United Way office, 315-593-1900 or via e-mail at: loisunitedway@windstream.net, no later than Friday, March 9th.

Cut line for photo: United Way of Greater Oswego County will pay tribute to its valued volunteers during its 74th Annual Meeting to be held Wednesday, March 14th at the American Foundry in Oswego. Representatives from CENG will present this year?s Leadership and Commitment Award. Above in the back row from left are: CENG Site VP NMP, Ken Langdon; Executive Director of the Port of Oswego Authority, and Chairperson of the United Way Campaign Cabinet, Jonathan Daniels; and Terry Syrell and Brian Gover of CENG. In the front row from left are: United Way Campaign Cabinet member, Rob Rolfe of Pathfinder Bank; CENG NMP Communications Specialist, Jill Lyon; Bob Close of CENG; Executive Director of the United Way of Greater Oswego County, Melanie Trexler; Jim Tsardakas of CENG, and Lois Luber, United Way Resource Development Director, Lois Luber.